Go to Top

North America, USA & Canada

When Do The Clocks Go Back?

The clocks change twice a year for all residents of the USA and Canada, by one hour each time, once going backwards and once going forwards.

In North America the clocks go BACK on the first Sunday in November every year .

 Scroll Down for the date and time of the next and future changes 

 

When Was The Last Change?

The clocks last went back on Sunday, 4 November 2012 at 02.00 Local Time



What Are The Dates Of The Next Changes?

Below are the dates of future changes. Of course we don’t expect you to remember, so sign up for the reminder email or follow us on Twitter to be reminded automatically.

Click on the time zone to see when the clocks go back from 2012 to 2016.

United States of America (USA) & Canada

Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) UTC-7 > Pacific Standard Time (PST) UTC-8

2013: Sunday 3rd November at 02:00 PDT (becoming 01:00 PST)
2014: Sunday 2nd November at 02:00 PDT (becoming 01:00 PST)
2015: Sunday 1st November at 02:00 PDT (becoming 01:00 PST)
2016: Sunday 6th November at 02:00 PDT (becoming 01:00 PST)

Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) UTC-6 > Mountain Standard Time (MST) UTC-7

2013: Sunday 3rd November at 02:00 MDT (becoming 01:00 MST)
2014: Sunday 2nd November at 02:00 MDT (becoming 01:00 MST)
2015: Sunday 1st November at 02:00 MDT (becoming 01:00 MST)
2016: Sunday 6th November at 02:00 MDT (becoming 01:00 MST)

Central Daylight Time (CDT) UTC-5 > Central Standard Time (CST) UTC-6

2013: Sunday 3rd November at 02:00 CDT (becoming 01:00 CST)
2014: Sunday 2nd November at 02:00 CDT (becoming 01:00 CST)
2015: Sunday 1st November at 02:00 CDT (becoming 01:00 CST)
2016: Sunday 6th November at 02:00 CDT (becoming 01:00 CST)

Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) UTC-4 > Eastern Standard Time (EST) UTC-5

2013: Sunday 3rd November at 02:00 EDT (becoming 01:00 EST)
2014: Sunday 2nd November at 02:00 EDT (becoming 01:00 EST)
2015: Sunday 1st November at 02:00 EDT (becoming 01:00 EST)
2016: Sunday 6th November at 02:00 EDT (becoming 01:00 EST)